Starting Ruby on Rails: What I Wish I Knew

Ruby on Rails is an elegant, compact and fun way to build web applications. Unfortunately, many gotchas await the new programmer. Now that I have a few rails projects under my belt, here’s my shot at sparing you the suffering I experienced when first getting started.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://betterexplained.com/articles/starting-ruby-on-rails-what-i-wish-i-knew/

[…] Starting Ruby on Rails: What I Wish I Knew | BetterExplained Ruby on Rails is an elegant, compact and fun way to build web applications. Unfortunately, many gotchas await the new programmer. Now that I have a few rails projects under my belt, here’s my shot at sparing you the suffering I experienced when first g (tags: ruby rails article tutorial) […]

excelent “bootstrap article” on ruby and rails! Pretty informative for beginners… :slight_smile:

Very good article. I’m new to Rails and articles like these keep me motivated. I’ll be checking your blog for my tips! Thx!

Awesome, glad you are finding it useful. Rails is really fun, but has quirks. I hope I can save people some trouble.

Avast find a trojan in “http://my.instacalc.com/”.

Hi Alessandro, thanks… there’s a false positive with Avast that I’m working on. Unfortunately some AV companies seem to false positive with JS/Feebs:

wonderful article! Thx for this! respect respect

[…] I’ve been keeping an eye on all the Ruby and Ruby on Rails hype. Thinking, wow, how exciting, I wish I had time to have a dabble. I really do want to get an environment sorted out and have a play, so I opened this article with great excitement and started to read. The excitement soon waned. Ruby removes unnecessary cruft: (){}; […]