Intuition For The Law Of Sines

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://betterexplained.com/articles/law-of-sines/

Do each possible triangles within the circle have their perpendicular bisectors intersect at the center of the circle?

kalid
thanks for another fantastic article . by your analogy the giant gorilla is tringle , angles are kids that see different versions (different sides) of gorilla , the angle of window and gorilla,s length never changes but why a circle circumscribe three windows , all possible triangle ???

hi khalid i studied all of your article i just want to say thanks. i can calculate the amount of mass sucked by a black hole from a donar star yet when i read about your articles about basic stuff like e and gradient i feel like i am ((understanding)) the concepts for the first time. i just want to say thanks for your great site.
since you are excited about understanding basic mathematics, i suggest you to read ((what is mathematics by richard courant ))

This is superb. With the usual proof I feel like someone with a better grasp of the ‘behind the scenes’ maths spotted a trick I wouldn’t find. With this, you can see the process of discovery. Somewhat different to a proof, but much more fit for purpose for the classroom. Thanks!

Thanks Anthony – exactly, I prefer to share the discovery process (“How did we get here?”) vs. the super-concise, cleaned-up proof that might not be very illuminating. Dropping right triangles, re-arranging, etc. doesn’t make sense without that “Aha! There’s a shared circle!”.

This is awesome. Could you use the same analysis/analogy to talk about cosine and tangent also?

Great question. For this scenario, sine is the only ratio that matches up with the fixed side. You could use trig identities like

$$cos^2+ sin^2 = 1$$

and rewrite the Law of Sines as:

$$\frac{a}{\sqrt{1 - \cos^2(A)}} = \frac{b}{\sqrt{1 - cos^2(B)}}$$