Unicode and You

I'm a Unicode newbie. But like many newbies, I had an urge to learn once my interest was piqued by an introduction to Unicode.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://betterexplained.com/articles/unicode/

[…] Binary files can get confusing. Problems happen when computers have different ways of reading data. There’s something called the “NUXI” or byte-order problem, which happens when 2 computers with different architectures (Mac and PC, for example) try to transfer binary data. Regular text stored in single bytes is unambiguous (but be careful with unicode). […]

Great guide!!!

[…] Unicode and You […]

[…] Unicode and You […]

[…] At least if you haven’t had “a chance” to deal with this subject the way I would have liked to yet you’d read Unicode and You. I’m very much assured that it will help you to understand the basics. […]

That was a wonderful article!!!

Thanks rc, glad it was helpful for you.

The “this program can break” example didn’t work for me. It opened fine in my hex editor. Am I missing a step?

Hi Steven, I was unclear in my instructions (just updated). Try opening the file in notepad, rather than a hex editor to see the result :).

Thanks, I see what you mean now. I still haven’t figured out why it happens. Maybe it’s a Windows joke? :slight_smile:

Yeah, I believe it’s an issue with Notepad trying to decipher what encoding the file is – it guesses based on the distribution of bytes! That particular English sentence has a byte structure similar to the unicode characters of other languages. More here: http://blogs.msdn.com/michkap/archive/2006/06/14/631016.aspx

it is reaaly a great job.
to simplify concepts that way is not easy at all.
i am a computer engineer working with telecommunication engineers that has no previous background in programming and i suffer when discussing such subjects with them.

it is reaaly a great job.
to simplify concepts that way is not easy at all.